Five key moments that propelled Pakistan to Champions Trophy glory

India has been the most successful team in the Champions Trophy history with this being the fourth final for the side. He ran out his fellow opener Azhar Ali while he was ball-watching after they'd made a record 128 but he shrugged that off too to earn his maiden century for Pakistan, in only his fourth one-day global, 11 days after his debut.

India was then routed for 158 in the 31st over.

Amir, who received a five-year ban from all cricket and served three months in prison following a conviction for spot-fixing in 2010, removed Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.

"It's a young team, credit goes to my boys, this tournament can be a great booster for us".

"They motivated us", explained Sarraz, also Pakistan's captain when they beat India in the 2006 Under-19 World Cup final in Colombo. He hit the ball really well and turned the tables on the Indian bowlers.

For Pakistan, Mohammed Amir and Hassan Ali were the main wicket-takers claiming three wickets each.

Amir picked up three wickets for 16 runs from his six overs. Similar sentiments are aroused among cricket fans in the Sub-continent during a Pakistan-India competition.

The omens weren't good at the toss as India made Pakistan bat first.

Meanwhile, Pakistan would consider it as a golden opportunity to avenge their first match defeat against India and clinch their maiden title.

Remember how, before the match (how long ago that now seems), the cricket world thought India's batsmen would put the match beyond Pakistan if they scored 300? Ha.

But went on to smash 114 and share a century opening partnership with Azhar Ali (59).

But he only looked to be delaying the inevitable and a huge mix-up with Jadeja saw the all-rounder, to his evident fury, run out for 76.

Pakistan Captain Sarfraz Ahmed said after the match, "We played like we had nothing to lose, now we are champions".

This was only Zaman's fifth one-day global. He danced to the other end, waved his bat to all parts of the packed ground, and kissed the pitch. Mohammad Amir and Fakhar Zaman starred for Pakistan in the final.

Azhar had a run-out scrape too, on 29, when Rohit missed the stumps from midwicket this time as Pakistan's frenetic start continued. Mohammad Hafeez, not out on 57, and Babar Azam, out caught after making 46, were also major contributors in the final score of 338. Their highest against India is 344, but that was in a chase of 350.

But so did Pakistan, who restricted their last three opponents to below 240. He was lbw by Muhammad Amir in the first over. Riding on their luck early one, the openers Fakhar Zamaan and Azhar Ali gave them a ideal 100 plus stand. But the Pakistanis consoled culprit Azhar and reset.

The two spinners Ravichandran Ashwin (0/70 in 10 overs) and Ravindra Jadeja (0/67 in 8 overs) were then taken to the task with not a single wicket-taking delivery being bowled by the duo.

In the very next over, a short ball from tournament star Hasan Ali to MS Dhoni was top edged to Imad Wasim.

Related news