To become vegetarian

To become vegetarian

To become vegetarian

Why do people become vegetarians?

Vegetarianism, in most parts of the world, is a matter of economy: Meat costs much more than, for example, rice and beans. Therefore, the meat becomes a dish that is eaten on a special occasion (or never). Even in places where there is plenty of meat, it is consumed in moderation, providing a complement of food rather than a central dish.

In countries like the United States, where meat is not expensive, People decide to be vegetarian for other reasons. Among the reasons to be a vegetarian are parental preferences, religious motives, or other beliefs, or health issues. Many people choose to be vegetarian because they are concerned about animal rights or the environment. And many people have more than one reason to become a vegetarian.

Vegetarian and semi-vegetarian diets

People follow different forms of vegetarianism. An authentic vegetarian does not eat any type of red meat, fish or chicken. A ovolactovegetarian eats dairy products and eggs, but does not eat red meat, fish and poultry. There is also the lactovegetarian who eats dairy products but does not eat eggs, while the ovovegetarians eat eggs but do not consume dairy products.

Whole grains are good
Whole grains are good

The strictest is the vegan . In the vegan diet, not only eggs and dairy products are eliminated, but also products of animal origin, such as honey and gelatine.

Some macrobiotic diets enter category of vegans. Macrobiotic diets not only restrict the consumption of products from animals. They also exclude processed and refined foods, foods with preservatives and those containing caffeine and other stimulants.

Some foods that appear to be vegan are not. Most cheeses are made with a product derived from animals called "rennet". Other ingredients found in foods that appear to be vegetarian are gelatine, which is made from meat products, and enzymes, which often come from animals.

semivegetarian and eat some fish, or birds, as part of a diet consisting mainly of vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, seeds and nuts. A Pescetarian eats fish but does not eat birds.

Related news